Skip to main content
Powered by rSchoolToday
 News Article
Croonquist named ‘Section Swimmer of the Year’

Croonquist named ‘Section Swimmer of the Year’

Tom Fenton Oct 29, 2020
Copyright © 2020 at Sun Newspapers/ APG Media of East Central Minnesota

Amber Croonquist finished a bizarre high school swimming and diving season just where she hoped — at the top.

Croonquist placed first in the 50-yard freestyle and also won the 100 butterfly — setting school records in both events — on her way to being named Section 5AA Swimmer of the Year honors. The section meet was Friday and Saturday at the Minnetonka Aquatics Center and was won by Wayzata.

Croonquist’s time in the 50 was 24.04 seconds and finished the butterfly in 56.21. She also was a member of the 200 freestyle relay team with Maddie Thom, Alexis Horn and Faith Lamah that placed second with a time of 1:41.58. They were the first Osseo relay team to qualify for a state meet since 2014 – but, there is no state meet this fall due to COVID-19.

“We were lucky to have a great group of seniors to help lead our team through hard work and positivity in order to have a successful season despite all the challenges due to COVID,” Osseo coach Linsi Jagger said. “I’m extremely proud of the determination and grit the girls showed this season.”

The 200 medley relay team of Emily Kersting, Horn, Maria Mascarenas and Olyvia Legatt placed sixth. In diving, Laura Christnager placed seventh, Savanna Dickey 10th, Abby Ahlquist 12th and Lauren Hallstrom 13th.

Maple Grove placed fourth in the Section 8AA meet in Elk River. The Crimson got a 1-2-3 sweep in the 50 freestyle, led by Maddi Bast’s first-place finish in 24.93. Elizabeth Altman was second in 24.97 and Ryann Hopp third in 25.14.

Morgan Bosacker placed second in diving with a score of 249.9.

The 200 freestyle relay team of Altman, Livia Isaacs, Hopp and Bast placed first in 1:41.04.




© 2021 - Powered by | Policies